Mother Nature Foiled at Quincy
By Jack Walbring

QUINCY, IL (June 12, 2011) - For the first time in the 2011 race season at Quincy Raceways, Mother Nature did not win the evening as a short shower during the first Late Model heat race did not bring the incredible racing to an end it only delayed it. Track officials and racers alike put in a heroic effort and brought the “Broadway Bullring” back into racing shape after an hour and a half delay. The track that had been in great condition for the evenings racing then became even better as the night’s program progressed.

Billy Genenbacher led the first lap of the Budweiser IMCA Late Model main event but Lonnie Bailey took over on lap two and proceeded to dominate the rest of the thirty lapper. Bailey pulled away to a half a lap margin at the checkered flag. The battle for the second spot was a barn burner and Joey Gower, Keith Pratt and Matt Bailey battled until the checkered flag brought the racing to an end. Gower settled for second followed by Pratt in third, Matt Bailey in fourth and Genenbacher in fifth. Pratt and Lonnie Bailey were the heat race winners.

Steven DeLonjay grabbed his second feature win of the year in the Miller Lite UMP Modified main event as he came to the lead on the fourth lap from his outside second row starting spot. DeLonjay had an eight second lead as the checkered flag waved at the end of lap twenty five. Dave Wietholder put on a valiant charge through the field to claim the second spot followed closely by Jared Schlipman in third, Justin Reed in fourth and Shawn Deering in fifth. Wietholder and DeLonjay were the heat race winners.

Gabe Harrison’s first year in an Triple R Performance Engines IMCA Stock Car has not been a fairy tale but more of a nightmare until Sunday night when he brought it to an end by dominating the feature event. Harrison led every circuit of the fifteen lap main event and held a two second margin at the checkered flag to gain his first ever feature event win in a rear wheel drive race car. Aaron Brocksieck and Kevin Tomlinson gave a valiant chase after Harrison but had to settle for the second and third spots followed by Jerry Jansen in fourth and Terry Houston in fifth. Harrison made it a clean sweep for the night as he also took the heat race win.

Tanner Klingele and Steve Carlin battled for the lead of the KRNQ Pepsi Inside Track Hobby Stock main event over the first twelve laps with Carlin taking over the top spot on lap ten. Carlin and Bobby Anders then had their own drama for the remainder of the twenty laps. Anders took the lead on lap fifteen with Carlin battling closely until taking over on lap nineteen. Anders then spun himself out on the white flag lap in turn two giving Carlin the uncontested victory, his first of the 2011 season. Anders recovered but on the final turn going to the checkered, he spun himself around and proceeded to ram Carlin in the Drivers door on the cool down lap leading to his disqualification and a minimum four week suspension for using his car as a weapon. Wes Mayfield scored second followed by Adam Scott in third, Nathan Hayes in fourth and Jim Powell in fifth. Anders and Carlin took the heat race wins.

Casey Kendrick took the feature event win, his third season in the Summy Tire and Auto Center Wild Things. Kendrick grabbed the lead from Craig Bangert on the third lap and never looked by to take the win. Craig Bangert settled for the second spot followed by Kim Abbott in third, William Michel in fourth and Austin Uppinghouse in fifth. Bangert took the heat race win.

Coming up next at Quincy Raceways on Sunday June 19 will be the Ursa Farmers Coop and Gem City Ford Night at the Races. Visit Quincy Raceways online at or call the Track Hotline at 217-224-4100 for more information.


6/12/2011 - Quincy Raceways Results...                                                                                                              

Budweiser IMCA Late Models

A-Main 1 --  1. Lonnie Bailey, Quincy; 2. Joey Gower, Quincy; 3. Keith Pratt, Mendon; 4. Matthew Bailey, Quincy; 5. Billy Genenbacher, Camp Point; 6. Denny Woodworth, Mendon; 7. Justin Reed, Collinsville, Il.; 8. Robby Warner, Quincy; 9. Clint Kirkham, Camden; 10. Darin Weisinger, Mendon; 11. Ron Elbe, Augusta; 12. Dustin Neese, Nebo; 13. Justin Jennings, La Grange, Mo..

Heat 1 --  1. Keith Pratt, Mendon; 2. Justin Reed, Collinsville, Il.; 3. Joey Gower, Quincy; 4. Billy Genenbacher, Camp Point; 5. Darin Weisinger, Mendon; 6. Dustin Neese, Nebo; 7. Denny Woodworth, Mendon.

Heat 2 --  1. Lonnie Bailey, Quincy; 2. Matthew Bailey, Quincy; 3. Robby Warner, Quincy; 4. Ron Elbe, Augusta; 5. Clint Kirkham, Camden; 6. Justin Jennings, La Grange, Mo..

Miller Lite UMP Modifieds

A-Main 1 --  1. Steven DeLonjay, Quincy; 2. David Wietholder, Liberty; 3. Jared Schlipman, Mendon; 4. Justin Reed, Collinsville, Il.; 5. Shawn Deering, Quincy; 6. Jake Griffin, Quincy; 7. Robbie Reed, Mexico, Mo.; 8. Vance Wilson, Quincy; 9. Ben Huff, Fowler; 10. Ryan Meyer, Liberty; 11. Todd Reed, Quincy; 12. Kevin morrow, west Peoria; 13. Ryan Morrison, Quincy; 14. Mark Zimmer, Jacksonville; 15. Terry Wilson, Bowling Green, Mo..

Heat 1 --  1. David Wietholder, Liberty; 2. Jared Schlipman, Mendon; 3. Jake Griffin, Quincy; 4. Mark Zimmer, Jacksonville; 5. Ben Huff, Fowler; 6. Vance Wilson, Quincy; 7. Ryan Morrison, Quincy; 8. Todd Reed, Quincy.

Heat 2 --  1. Steven DeLonjay, Quincy; 2. Shawn Deering, Quincy; 3. Robbie Reed, Mexico, Mo.; 4. Justin Reed, Collinsville, Il.; 5. Terry Wilson, Bowling Green, Mo.; 6. Ryan Meyer, Liberty.

Triple Performance Engine IMCA Stock Cars

A-Main 1 --  1. Gabe Harrison, Warsaw; 2. Aaron Brocksieck, Camp Point; 3. Kevin Tomlinson, New London, Mo.; 4. Jerry Jansen, Plainville; 5. Terry Houston, Mt. Sterling; 6. Beau Taylor, Canton, Mo.; 7. Andrew Griffin, Golden; 8. Abe Huls, Carthage; 9. Kelly Bartz, Quincy.

Heat 1 --  1. Gabe Harrison, Warsaw; 2. Andrew Griffin, Golden; 3. Jerry Jansen, Plainville; 4. Abe Huls, Carthage; 5. Kevin Tomlinson, New London, Mo.; 6. Kelly Bartz, Quincy; 7. Terry Houston, Mt. Sterling; 8. Beau Taylor, Canton,  Mo.; 9. Aaron Brocksieck, Camp Point.


KRNQ Pepsi Inside Track Hobby Stocks

A-Main 1 --  1. Steve Carlin, Hannibal, Mo.; 2. Wesley Mayfield, Hull; 3. Adam Scott, Payson; 4. Nathan Hayes, Quincy; 5. Jim Powell, Hannibal, Mo.; 6. Nathan Anders, Quincy; 7. Jake Powers, Plainville; 8. Tanner Klingele, Quincy; 9. Jeremy Buss, Fowler; 10. Justin Bartz, Quincy; 11. Brandon Symmonds, Keokuk, Iowa; DQ. Bobby Anders, Hull.

Heat 1 --  1. Bobby Anders, Hull; 2. Jim Powell, Hannibal, Mo.; 3. Tanner Klingele, Quincy; 4. Nathan Hayes, Quincy; 5. Jeremy Buss, Fowler; 6. Justin Bartz, Quincy.

Heat 2 --  1. Steve Carlin, Hannibal, Mo.; 2. Adam Scott, Payson; 3. Wesley Mayfield, Hull; 4. Jake Powers, Plainville; 5. Brandon Symmonds, Keokuk, Iowa; 6. Nathan Anders, Quincy.


Summy Tire & Auto Center Wild Things

A-Main 1 --  1. Casey Kendrick, New London, Mo.; 2. Craig Bangert, Golden; 3. Kimberly Abbott, Camp Point; 4. William Michel, Farmington, Iowa; 5. Austin Uppinghouse, Payson; 6. Seith Woodruff, Carthage; 7. Casey Lambert, Carthage; 8. Wayne Dejaynes, Griggsville; 9. Brandon Lambert, Carthage.

Heat 1 --  1. Craig Bangert, Golden; 2. Kimberly Abbott, Camp Point; 3. William Michel, Farmington, Iowa; 4. Seith Woodruff, Carthage; 5. Casey Kendrick, New London, Mo.; 6. Austin Uppinghouse, Payson; 7. Casey Lambert, Carthage; 8. Brandon Lambert, Carthage; 9. Wayne Dejaynes, Griggsville.



Updated and Maintained by